My inaugural post

These last few months have been a strange and exciting journey. In mid-December I decided that I would write a book. Considering that most of what I read falls into the erotic romance category, this seemed like a logical choice. Once I hammered out the story line, the book literally FLEW from my fingertips on to the page. In a little over a month.. there it was. My first novel.

I sat down to write fiction. I was incredibly unprepared, though, to put so much of myself on the page.  I really wanted the characters to be genuine. Real people, with real problems. It was also important to me that they be people that I’d want to hang out with, or people that would have traits I could admire. I couldn’t see myself investing so much time writing about people that I didn’t like.

When I submitted my book to publishers, I wanted someone to want to publish it. Really, really badly. I was hoping, but not really expecting for much. I had plans to self-publish if I got a slew of rejections.

The first rejection? I gotta tell you, that was rough. Reading the laundry list of reasons why this thing that you wrote, that basically amounted to your GUTS on a page, wasn’t “right” stung a bit. I had already started on the second one in the series, because my brain wouldn’t let me stop. I had a few days of soul searching and inactivity.

Luckily, the second response I got was NOT a rejection. It was in fact, from someone.. who wanted to sell my book and pay me money!

*pausing to let that sink in*

So, here I am. I’ve sold my first book. It’s scheduled to come out on May 6, 2014 (tentative release).

In the next few weeks, I hope to have something more that my emotional ramblings. Cover art, promotional excerpts, details on my next book (which I just finished first draft on. YESSSS!) and much more.

About Michelle Roth

Michelle Roth is a novelist from the Great White North (Toronto, ON). When she’s not disappearing into foreign lands, or making two perfect strangers that she invented fall in love, she’s probably curled up somewhere with a glass of wine and a good book. In her spare time she is typically hanging out with her awesome boyfriend and their two equally awesome cats. She likes taking road trips to nowhere in particular, cooking elaborate meals then making other people do the dishes, and being nerdy on the internet. Her books are currently available on http://www.bookstrand.com/michelle-roth
This entry was posted in Author, erotic romance novelist, published author, writer, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

