Book Cover Reveal – Lip Service

… and other news.

Just a Taste, my first book, comes out on May 6, 2014. I just finished up the final edits on it yesterday. I’m starting to get SUPER nervous. Three weeks til release date. I’ve tapped all of the people that I can for advance reader copies. Just waiting for Siren to finalize the book so I can release my blurbs and the arc’s.

Lip Service, my second novel, comes out for release on May 28, 2014. I’ve gone through the first round of edits and just got my cover art today. I have to say, I loved the first cover, but this one is FREAKING FANTASTIC!!!

Image

Cover art done by the magnificent Harris Channing

Book Three, yet untitled, is about to undergo some major re-writes. You writers out there know that feeling. The one where you know something is just WRONG with what you’re writing. It’s perfectly acceptable, but not necessarily what you were trying to put on the page. I’ve been having a couple weeks like this. It’s been about two weeks since I started and I’ve done less than 20k words, which is REALLY slow compared to what I’ve done previously.

I was talking it over with a writer friend at lunch. We were talking random nonsense and she asked me about the book. I said, “Meh. I’ve been outlining but something isn’t clicking. Here’s my story..”

As soon as I finished, I was like, “I don’t think my conflict is a valid conflict based on the characters I’m developing. They need something external. Maybe if I..”

Suddenly the story locked into place. We talked through the block and then she made some awesome suggestions to heighten the conflict even more. May incorporate them in. Haven’t fully decided yet. It requires some small detail changes in my initial 17k words, but beyond that, I can totally work with what I have. 

A couple of times I’ve had the errant thought over the last couple of days, “Ugh. I don’t want to write this book.” .. That’s how bad that feeling of dislike was. I kind of wanted to put aside the story. Just shelve it.

Granted, my lack of enthusiasm also had to do with work being insane, finishing up two books in pretty rapid succession without really taking much of a break and diving into my third book WAY underprepared, but yeah.. So those are my secret, self-doubting thoughts.

After my talk today, I’m feeling re-energized and ready to make this book awesome.. so I’m going to go do that. But, first, I will leave you with this thought.

I am reminded of a Warren Ellis quote on giving up:

“There is no such goddamn thing.  There is only getting up and doing it all over again, smarter and harder, until something ups and fucking kills you, because that’s the only thing big enough to stop you.

This is The Great Work, and all you have to do is choose it, not look back and never fucking stop until you’re in your box, under the dirt and flowers are growing between your teeth.

And that is why I’ll never be asked to do motivational speaking.  G’night.”

 

About Michelle Roth

Michelle Roth is a novelist from the Great White North (Toronto, ON). When she’s not disappearing into foreign lands, or making two perfect strangers that she invented fall in love, she’s probably curled up somewhere with a glass of wine and a good book. In her spare time she is typically hanging out with her awesome boyfriend and their two equally awesome cats. She likes taking road trips to nowhere in particular, cooking elaborate meals then making other people do the dishes, and being nerdy on the internet. Her books are currently available on http://www.bookstrand.com/michelle-roth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Cover Reveal – Lip Service

  1. Congrats on your impending first release and thanks for the great ‘daisies growing between my teeth’ inspiration 😉

    Like

What are your thoughts?

